Matariki Bennett joins Maggie for a kōrero about the NZNPS.

New Zealand National Poetry Slam (NZNPS) will the top poets in the country travel to Tāmaki Makaurau for the opportunity to be crowned the 2023 National Champion. This year eight regions across Aotearoa will be sending the winners of their local slams to compete: Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch, Otago, Hamilton, Tauranga, Nelson, and Hawke’s Bay. 13 finalists will compete across three knockout rounds until a winner is crowned. Poets perform original work and are judged by random audience members.