Studio Phone+64 4 801 9089
Studio Emailstudiolive@radioactive.fm – Contact DJs, request a shout out or dedication, and enter giveaways!

Phone (Office)+64 4 801 9899
LocationLevel 1,
NEC House, 40 Taranaki Street, Wellington,6011
PostalPO Box 11-971
Wellington
New Zealand


DirectorRoss Steeleross@radioactive.fm
Station ManagerJen Kylejen@radioactive.fm
Music Submissionsmusic@radioactive.fm
Programme DirectorHarri Robinsonharri@radioactive.fm
Programming AssistantMia Kellymia@radioactive.fm
AdvertisingPhoebe Johnsonphoebe@radioactive.fm
InfoTasha Tziakisinfo@radioactive.fm
Breakfast ProducerJosh Dominikovichbreakfast@radioactive.fm
Caffeine & Aspirin ProducerLexi Millscaffeineandaspirin@gmail.com
Supportsupport@radioactive.fm

About Us

Radio Active FM Limited is wholly owned by The Radio Active Charitable Trust.

The Trustees are:

Ross SteeleAndy Mitchell
John PilleyBrigid Connor
Andrew TobinYadana Saw
Ben Howe

We regularly receive feedback from people tuning in from every corner of the globe. Everybody from Wellington expats to musicians and producers that have experienced our good vibes during their travels!

With a highly talented pool of over 100 volunteer DJs/Announcers, some of whom have been with the station for over fifteen years, RadioActive.FM is renowned for the wide variety of interesting music that it plays.

The specialist shows throughout the week cater for a truly eclectic range of sub-genres. From African Samba to Swedish Metal – our specialist DJs know their stuff, and cover all bases.


A Little History…

RadioActive.FM began life as the student radio station for Victoria University of Wellington Students’ Association (VUWSA) first broadcasting in August 1977, on the 1260kHz AM Frequency.

Here’s a few more facts about this cult station:

  • On February 22, 1982, Radio Active became the first radio station in Wellington, and one of the first in New Zealand, to broadcast on the newly available FM frequency.
  • In 1992 VUWSA decided that Radio Active could not make any more losses, and sold the station to Radio Active Ltd, in the hope that the station could become financially viable.
  • In 1997 Radio Active was one of the first radio stations in the world to commence online broadcasting, and one of the first to have a stream available 24/7.
  • In 1998 the station moved off campus, to join Wellington’s creative communities in the central city – creating popular events such as the long-running “One Love” Waitangi Day festival, and music video awards night: “Handle The Jandal”.
  • RadioActive.FM is proudly part of the Student Radio Network (SRN) along with 95bFM, Radio Control, RDU and Radio One.


Want to learn more about RadioActive? Check out the article by our friends at AudioCulture! (or give us a call – we’re always happy to hear from you!)

Victoria University of Wellington Tapuaka – Heritage & Archive Collections
ref. Salient 1982 45 n1 p1


Broadcasting Standards Complaints

Formal complaints must be in writing (post or email) and need to be lodged with the broadcaster within 20 working days of the broadcast.

You need to provide the following details about the programme:

  • the date of the broadcast
  • the time of the broadcast
  • the title of the programme

You also need to explain which broadcasting standards you think have been breached, and why.
For an overview of the standards:
Go to Codes and Standards

For help with choosing the right standard, including some examples:
Go to Choosing a Standard

email music@radioactive.fm

Or

PO Box 11971, Manners Street, Wellington