Congratulations To The 2022 Student Radio Network Award Winners.

Missed the celebrations? Catch up over on YouTube

Te Tōtahi Toa (Favourite Single) brought to you by Independent Music New Zealand:
Amameila – Colourbox
Ben Woods – Wearing Divine
Casual Healing – Green Tigers
DARTZ – Hoons
DBLDBL – Big Mike feat. L V J & PollyHill
Earth Tongue – Miraculous Death
Fazerdaze – Come Apart
How Get – Te Tai Pari
JessB – From Tha Jump
TE KAAHU – Pai Maarire
Te Tohu Hopunga Puoro Mariu (Favourite EP / Mixtape) brought to you by Recorded Music NZ:
Headland – Roamer EP
How Get – Te Waea Moana
Mokotron – TAWHITO EP
Revulva – Girl’s Gotta Eat
Social Union – Fall Into Me
Sports Dreams – Weather Admitting
Te KuraHuia – UHA
Violet French and the Horrible – Violet French and the Horrible
Wiri Donna – Being Alone
Te Tohu Kohinga Mariu (Favourite Album) brought to you by APRA AMCOS NZ:
Aldous Harding – Warm Chris
Baby Zionov – Henrietta
Ben Woods – Dispeller
The Big Fresh Collective – Footmahi 2022
Dale Kerrigan – The Water
Erny Belle – Venus Is Home
Julien Dyne – Modes
Motte – Cold + Liquid
Recitals – Orbit I
TE KAAHU – Te Kaahu o Rangi
The ten acts in contention for the Te Tohu Kaipuoro Toa (Favourite Solo Act):
Baby Zionov
Ben Woods
Rubi Du
Wiri Donna
Te Rōpū Mariu (Favourite Group) brought to you by RE Burger:
Big Scout
Earth Tongue
Hans Pucket
How Get
Long Distance Runner
The Beths

Te Tohu Puoro o te reo Māori (Favourite Song featuring Te Reo Māori) brought to you by Te Māngai Pāho:
Aro – Tohorā
Goldsmith Baynes  Te Aranga o Matariki
Half/Time – Ōrākau
How Get – Te Tai Pari
Huia – Tui Tuia Ō Whakapapa feat. Sean Richards
IA – Ngā Reo feat. Te Kahu Rolleston
Mokotron – TAWHITO
TE KAAHU – Pai Maarire
Te KuraHuia – POIA
Troy Kingi – Ka Tipu
Throughout the evening, the following awards will also be presented:

Outstanding Contribution to 95bFM
95bFM’s Outstanding Achievement in Broadcasting
95bFM’s Favourite Song of 2021 brought to you by Progear
Outstanding Contribution to Radio Control brought to you by MUSA (Massey University Students’ Association)
Radio Control’s Outstanding Achievement in Broadcasting brought to you by MUSA (Massey University Students’ Association)
Radio Control’s Favourite Song of 2021 brought to you by MUSA (Massey University Students’ Association)
Outstanding Contribution to Radio Active brought to you by Parrotdog Bar
Radio Active’s Outstanding Achievement in Broadcasting Brought to you by Flying Nun Records
Radio Active’s Favourite Song of 2021 brought to you by Hills Hats
Outstanding Contribution to RDU brought to you by THREE BOYS Brewery
RDU Favourite Song of 2021 brought you MAINZ (S.I.T)
RDU’s Outstanding Achievement in Broadcasting brought to you by UCSA
Outstanding Contribution to Radio One 91FM brought to you by OUSA (Otago University Students’ Association)
Radio One 91FM’s Outstanding Achievement in Broadcasting brought to you by OUSA (Otago University Students’ Association)
Radio One 91FM’s Favourite Song of 2021 brought to you by OUSA (Otago University Students’ Association)
People’s Choice Award brought to you by College of Creative Arts, Massey University
2021 SRN Top 10 brought to you by Audioculture
Outstanding Achievement Award brought to you by New Zealand Music Commission
The Student Radio Network is a union of radio stations that represent the heart & conscience of Aotearoa’s contemporary, alternative community. 95bFMRadio Control 99.4FMRadio Active 88.6FMRDU 98.5FM, and Radio One 91FM have a deep musical kaupapa within Aotearoa, platforming unique and authentic voices.The Student Radio Network Awards, with funding from NZ On Air, will celebrate the musicians, broadcasters and volunteers who breathe life into these stations. The event will be held in person, streamed live and simulcast on all five Student Radio Network stations.

Reflecting on time that has passed since the inaugural awards, James Mehary of RDU says “The Student Radio Network continues to impress with their work on developing emerging musicians in Aotearoa. And as the undercurrent to the industry, the Student Radio Network Awards now extends their capability to profile the next, the new, the yet to be discovered.”

The main ceremony for 2022 Student Radio Network awards will be held in Dunedin at the University of Otago’s Main Common Room.
“We’re excited, literally frothing, to be bringing the Student Radio Network Awards to Ōtepoti, Te Waipounamu” says Radio One 91FM’s Sean Norling. “Beyond Dunedin’s proud musical history, the Student Radio Network Awards help us celebrate our incredible local musical talent of the future.”

Two new awards have been added to the ceremony; the Tohu Puoro o te reo Māori Award will signal the Student Radio Network’s favourite song that features Te Reo Maori, and each station will give out an Outstanding Achievement in Broadcasting award, commending the creators of a piece of exemplary work that has featured on air, or online.
“We’re stoked to announce Tohu Puoro o te reo Māori, celebrating our favourite songs in te reo Māori,” says Caitlin McIlhagga  (95bFM’s General Manager). “It gives us another platform to showcase the incredible music being playlisted across the Student Radio Network.” 

Radio Active’s Jennifer Kyle notes that “Choosing winners is going to be hard! Every Student Radio Network station creates amazing content. Interviews, features, live sessions, video series, mixes. We’re packed with so much talent and the new award gives each station a chance to celebrate this.”

The Student Radio Network Awards will be held live throughout Aotearoa, live streamed as well as broadcast simultaneously on all five stations from 7PM on November 19. Radio Control’s Station Manager’s Michael Tile Vamaua concludes, “we are super excited to celebrate the amazing community of dedicated volunteers and incredibly talented local musicians at this year’s Student Radio Network Awards – you absolute legends!